God’s Voice in the Darkness

479916_4518455721585_1378134641_n

“I want to go back, Lord,” I said. “It’s familiar there.”

“No, my child,” God replied. “You must keep moving forward.”

“But I’m afraid, Lord. Please hold my hand,” I cried.

“I’m here child,” He assured.

“I want to go back, Lord,” I cried out again. “The pain is just too great.”

“My grace is sufficient,” God said. “You have my strength.”

“But I feel so alone,” I said. “Please don’t let go, Lord!”

“I’m here, my child,” His words came with comfort.

“Please take me back to where I was before,” again I pleaded.

“No, my child,” He whispered. “You must walk on.

I am here with you, every step of the way.

And I will never leave you,” He assured.

“Even if it were possible, turning back now would never allow you to

receive all the wonderful things I have planned for you.

Keep walking ahead, child, and listen to my voice,” God said.

“I will see you through this. And I will never leave you. You have my promise.”

I walked on through the darkness, my hand in His…until I could again see the light.

And as I reached the light, it’s rays of warmth seemed to pour over and into me, deep within my spirit.

The darkness could not defeat me for my LORD walked beside me. His light was always there, deep within my heart, for He was and is ever with me.

Now, in my heart, I know the darkness of this world can never defeat me. For, through Jesus, my Savior, God pierced the darkness with the light of His love and conquered it for all eternity!

~ Angela Hall Dobbins

John 8:12b: “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Isaiah 41:13: For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”

One thought on “God’s Voice in the Darkness

  1. “Don’t doubt in the dark what you heard in the light”. I heard this quote years ago and it’s stuck with my in so many different situations. God leads us so perfectly. If only I would truly Trust Him. I loved this post. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

