In Black and White

Galations 3:28: “There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus.”

The Apostle Paul wrote the above in a letter to the church at Galatia some 2000 years ago.  Jesus taught equality and lived it in His daily life.  The following is an article I ran across, along with a wonderful photograph that gives us cause to stop and think…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Children Don’t See Color – the World Forces It on Them

Below is a photograph from 1973. It shows five friends, hugging and having fun. The picture is a scene of pure bliss and friendship. These children don’t see color; three are black and two are white, yet they don’t care. When they look at one another, these kids don’t even see color. We should learn how to view the world through children’s eyes.

see-color

According to the original photographer, “The world seems to be filled with misunderstanding, which often leads to anger, fear, and ultimately hatred and violence. Whether it is violence based on race or gender or religious or political differences, it all seems very unnecessary to me. The simple message is that we are all human. We all bleed the same. I think we all want the same basic things out of life – to live in peace and have food and shelter and to be loved. Maybe I am naïve or overly idealistic. I’m a product of the sixties. I grew up thinking that we could end war and that basic human justice was a real possibility. I get very cynical sometimes about the state of the world and our society in particular, but when I look at those kids it makes me think we could learn a lot from their innocence.”

– Article from Viralnova.com

In the words of Jesus Christ,

“Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”  Mark 10:15 (NIV)

Photo Source Credit:

I [Joseph Crachiola] shot this photograph forty years ago in Mt. Clemens, Michigan – July 31, 1973 – while working for a suburban Detroit newspaper. It was a seemingly insignificant moment. I was walking down a side street and saw some children playing. They saw me and said, “Hey mister, take our picture!” The pose was completely spontaneous. I shot several frames and moved on. The picture ran somewhere inside the paper and was probably forgotten about, but for me it still stands as one of my most meaningful pictures. It makes me wonder. When is innocence lost? At what point do we begin to mistrust one another? When do we begin to judge one another based on gender or race? I have always wondered what happened to these children. I wonder if they are still friends. In light of the current state of affairs in this country I can’t help but wonder if we couldn’t all learn something from them.  © Joseph Crachiola.
Leave a Reply

